Intimate Engagements Concert

Revolution and Romance
Sacconi Quartet

Ben Hancox, violin 
Hannah Dawson, violin 
Robin Ashwell, viola 
Cara Berridge, cello 

The renowned Sacconi presents a programme by four composers, each inventing and revolutionising the medium of string quartet. Beethoven’s Serioso Quartet is a mastery of form and precision where drama is maximised using a minimum of notes.  Mendelssohn’s mastery of Romantic lyricism and emotional drama is epitomised perfectly in his opus 12 quartet, paving the way for later Romantic quartet writing. Helen Grime takes up the string quartet mantle and takes the form to new extremes of sound and emotion, lyricism ever abounding. 

Schubert Quartettsatz in C Minor D703
Helen Grime String Quartet
Beethoven String Quartet No. 11 in F minor Opus 95 Serioso
Mendelssohn String Quartet No. 1 Opus 12
£15.00, £10.00 Clare Hall Members, £5.00 Students
Reservations; (01223) 332360 or at the Porters’ Lodge