Fitzwilliam String Quartet - Four Centuries, Four Players

Saturday 8 January from 7.30pm

Join us for a live-stream of Fitzwilliam String Quartet's much-anticipated inaugural performance as Quartet-in-Residence at Clare Hall.

In light of the Omicron variant, Clare Hall has taken the decision for this concert to be live-streamed free of charge on Saturday 8 January, via our YouTube channel, instead of offering in-person ticketing. We are sorry for any disappointment regarding this change of format.


Purcell: Fantazia No.6 (1680)

Barcham Stevens: Double on Purcell’s Fantazia No.6 (2014)

Haydn: Quartet in D major, Op.76/5 (1796)

Beethoven: Quartet in C sharp minor, Op.131 (1826)

Read a full programme here.

Alan George, a founding member of the Quartet, comments:
An ambition for the next three years is for Clare Hall and its guests to be given as complete a coverage as possible of those specific areas of music which have helped put the FSQ on the map. Indeed, our very first programme immediately sets the tone by presenting in quick succession two works composed five centuries apart! We are proud of our quest to push the boundaries of the quartet repertoire back into the 17th century – sometimes employing historical instruments in the process – as well as keeping right up-to-date with new commissions: in this instance, composed for us by our former second violinist. However, few would disagree that Vienna remains at the centre of the string quartet world, and here are two of its unquestioned masterpieces.  The C sharp minor quartet might even be considered by some to be the greatest of all time: Roger Fiske has written that 'in this music Beethoven seems to have escaped from the world of men and to have achieved utter spirituality'”.

Rashel Pakbaz, the Music Committee's Administrator, is your best point of contact for questions relating to this concert.

Photo: Glen T Photography