Our people

The College is a highly integrated academic society with a President, Fellows, graduate students and other members. About 300 members are currently in Cambridge creating a professionally and culturally diverse environment. To find out more about any of our members, please click on their names below. Clare Hall is committed to protecting your privacy, please refer to www.clarehall.cam.ac.uk/data-protection-information.

Find people using the buttons and search fields below

Professor Robert Ackerman

Fellow Commoner


History of anthropology


Martin Aldridge


Contact details:


01223 332 364


Jennifer Allen

GSB Treasurer

Role: Manages the GSB budget and all reimbursements.

Contact details 

Dr Gianluca Amadei

Research Fellow

Dr Gianluca Amadei completed his PhD at the University of Toronto in 2016, under the supervision of Dr Freda Miller, where he studied the role of RNA-binding proteins in the context of mammalian embryonic brain d

Dr Mario Amado-Montero

Research Fellow

Subject: Physics


Materials science and metallurgy

Contact details:

Dr Robert G W Anderson

Emeritus Fellow

Subject: History of Chemistry

Contact details: rgwa2@hermes.cam.ac.uk

Professor Emilio Artacho

Professorial Fellow

Subject: Theory of condensed matter

Department/institution: Cavendish Laboratory

Contact details: ea245@cam.ac.uk

Professor Michael F Ashby

Emeritus Fellow

Subject: The mechanical behaviour of materials; particularly metals, ceramics and ice

Contact details: mfa2@eng.cam.ac.uk

Minja Axelsson

GSB Equalities

Role: Addresses issues concerning equality, diversity, and representation.

Dr Tobias Baldauf

Research Fellow, Tutor

Subject: Theoretical Cosmology

Department/institution: Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics

Professor Manohar Bance

Professorial Fellow

Subject: Disorders of hearing and balance

Department: Medicine

Contact: mlb59@cam.ac.uk

Dr Jenny Bangham

Research Fellow

Subject: History of science

Department/institution: History and philosophy of science

Amanda Barclay

Associates in Cambridge

Martin Baur

GSB Sports

Role: Organises sports activities and is the main contact for the Clare Hall sports teams.

Sophie Beedell

Development Administrator

Development Administrator

Contact: alumni.administrator@clarehall.cam.ac.uk

Professor Dame Gillian Beer

Honorary Fellow


Literature and history of science


Subject: Material Sciences

Department/institution: Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy

Dr Denis Bilodeau

Fellow Commoner

Subject: Intellectual history, particularly history and philosophy of the human sciences.

Contact details: dcb28@cam.ac.uk

Dr Iain Black

Emeritus Fellow

Subject: Historical Geography

Department/institution: Department of Geography

Michael H Black

Emeritus Fellow

Subject: Early fiction of D.H. Lawrence.

Research interests:

Fellows in the news

Research Fellow named UK Dementia Research Institute Emerging Leader 2021

Dr Julie Qiaojin Lin, a Research Fellow of Clare Hall, has been recognised as an Emerging Leader in dementia research by the UK Dementia Research Institute (UK DRI). Dr Lin is a Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Fellow, hosted by Professor Giovanna Mallucci’s Lab in the UK DRI at Cambridge and jointly sponsored by Professor Clemens Kaminski at Cambridge and...
Read more

Dr Trudi Tate retires as Assistant Senior Tutor at Clare Hall

Our very best wishes and warmest gratitude to Dr Trudi Tate on her retirement after 20 years as a Tutor, 5 years as Praelector, and 2 years as Assistant Senior Tutor at Clare Hall.She shares:
'It has been a great honour and a pleasure to serve as a Tutor at Clare Hall. We have a fantastic group of bright, enthusiastic students. And we are fortunate in our outstanding team of Tutors, who contribute so much to the College. It was a pleasure to work with Bobbie Wells and Iain Black as...
Read more

Visiting Fellow to speak about new handbook on the Bible in China

Dr George Kam Wah Mak, a Visiting Fellow of Clare Hall, will speak at the webinar ‘Oxford Handbook of The Bible in China: Text and Context’ next month. The webinar is one of the online book launches for The Oxford Handbook of the Bible in China (Oxford University Press, 2021). The handbook features 47 essays authored by 49 international scholars. It showcases the four-fold paradigm: the Bible’s translation, expression, interpretation, and reception in China over the last...
Read more

Vaccine passport research conducted by Fellow of Clare Hall

Professor Barbara Sahakian, Fellow of Clare Hall, has co-authored a piece for The Conversation on the benefits of vaccine passports to society.The article argues that carrying a vaccine passport is a small sacrifice for a greater good; that individuals have a moral duty to protect their community; and that those who cannot have vaccinations for health reasons should be given some form of passport that indicates this is the case.Professor Sahakian comments:
"Through kindness...
Read more