Skip to main content Skip to footer

President Alan Short Elected Deputy Chair of Colleges’ Committee

5 January 2024 Fellows

The President of Clare Hall, Alan Short, has been duly elected unopposed to the position of Deputy Chair of the Colleges’ Committee from 1 October 2024 for two years and will replace Heather Hancock, the Master of St. John’s, in that role. She becomes Chair for two years from 1 October 2024. Alan will also take up a post on the University Council, taking the place of Pippa Rogerson, Master of Caius, as she steps down. Alan will then become Chair of the Colleges’ Committee from 1 October 2026. The Committee represents the interests of the colleges. Its membership comprises all of the 31 Heads of House. The Vice-Chancellor, Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education, the Academic Secretary, the Chair and Secretary of the Bursars’ Committee, the Chair and Secretary of the Senior Tutors’ Committee attend ex officio. The President will also become Deputy Chair and subsequently Chair of the Colleges’ Standing Committee which prepares the agenda for the Colleges’ Committee in close discussion with Heads of House and the University.